Wild and exciting winged outlaw sprint car racing will headline the racing program at Dixie Speedway on Saturday, July 15th at 7:00 pm.

Print Friendly
Share Button
Wild and exciting winged outlaw sprint car racing will headline the racing program at Dixie Speedway on Saturday, July 15th at 7:00 pm. The K&N Filters sponsored United Sprint Car Series “Outlaw Thunder” Tour www.uscsracing.com winged sprint cars will roar into the fast 3/8-mile high-banked clay tri-oval for the 2017 version of the Dixie Sprint Car Nationals speed spectacular. The event is race number thirty-three on the 57-race 21st annual schedule for the Nationally touring USCS drivers. The race is the only USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car event scheduled at Dixie Speedway during the 2017 season.  The event also serves as Round #18 on the USCS Southern Thunder Tour regional series schedule.  The Dixie Speedway race will award USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour drivers with National and USCS Southern Thunder Tour regional series championship points. Entries are expected from seven or more states for the event.
Expected entries for Saturday night include several multi-time USCS Southern Thunder Tour sprint car feature winners. Those drivers include; 11-time National and multi-time Southern Thunder Tour USCS Champion Terry Gray, from Bartlett, Tennessee and former Southern Thunder regional series Champion Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina.
Also entered and a past and present season winner is the Nation’s top female sprint car racer Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee who is the defending and a two-time (2015& 2016) USCS National Champion.  Turpen has been on fire this season as she has won eight times in USCS competition and leads the series in the wins column. She is also the Dixie Sprint Car Nationals defending Champion.
One of the other top entries is Jordon Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas who leads the USCS Southern Thunder Tour regional point standings. He also trials current points leader Terry Gray in the National title chase in the runner-up spot just 13 points back.  Mallett was the 2011 USCS Rookie of the Year. He was also the 2016 National Sprint League 360 Sprint Car Champion. Mallett is the most recent USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winner with a visit to the www.rockauto.com USCS Victory Lane this past Saturday night at Whynot Motorsports Park in Meridian, Mississippi. He has three wins so far, this season.
Danny Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida is another expected entry. Martin was a five-time 2016 USCS feature winner. Tony Agin from Ft. Myers, Florida will also travel North for the event to try to improve on his fifth-place position in the current National point standings. Additional Florida entries include the 2015 USCS Rookie of the Year, Nick Snyder from Marco Island, Florida. Terry and Tanner Witherspoon from Jacksonville, Florida and Bob Auld rom Largo, Florida. are also entered.
Other past National and regional Rookie of the Year drivers who are entered include the 2012 USCS National Rookie of the Year, Jeff Willingham from Ripley, Mississippi, who is fourth in the current 2017 USCS National standings.  The 2014 USCS Rookie of the Year, Brandon McLain from Indian Trail, North Carolina. McLain and his Brother, Jake McLain, who was the 2009 USCS Southern Thunder Tour regional series Rookie of the Year are both entered. Additionally, Lee Moore from Tuscaloosa, Alabama who was the 2007 USCS Southern Thunder Rookie of the Year is expected as well.
Veteran Georgia drivers include Brian Thomas from Pendergrass, Georgia who is third in the USCS Southern Thunder Tour standings and team-mate Matt Linder from Hoschton, Georgia are expected as well as veteran sprint car driver Joe Larkin from Suwannee, Georgia who is also inside the 2017 Southern Thunder top ten.  Former California sprint car racer, Chase Wood from Alpharetta, Georgia will make his first entry into USCS competition at Dixie Speedway on Saturday.
Several 2017 Rookie of the Year contenders are entered including Scott Hunter from Concord, North Carolina and Brandon Taylor from Cumming, Georgia as well as first year winged sprint car racer Jeff Oliver from Pendergrass, Georgia are entered.
Former United Racing Club Champion, Robbie Stillwaggon from Burlington, New Jersey, who had two feature wins with the USCS series earlier in 2017, is an additional potent entry to the list. Stillwaggon won at Carolina Speedway and Lancaster Speedway in April.  
The USCS winged sprint cars are joined on Saturday night racing card by a full program of racing in the Super Late Models, Late Model and Stock Car racing divisions as well to create an action-packed night of racing and family entertainment.
For directions to and more information about Dixie Speedway please visit www.dixiespeedway.com  The track’s Race-Day and information phone line number is 770-926-5315. For updated schedules, rules and more for the United Sprint Car Series, please visit www.uscsracing.com. If you still have questions please call 770-865-6097.